Board of Directors and Executive Committee


Artistic and Administrative Staff

Richman head shotJames Richman, named Artistic Director of the Dallas Bach Society in 1995, is a prominent harpsichordist and fortepianist, as well as one of today’s leading conductors of Baroque music and opera. The first musician since Leonard Bernstein to attend Harvard, Juilliard, and the Curtis Institute of Music, James Richman studied conducting with Max Rudolf and Herbert Blomstedt, piano with Mieczyslaw Horszowski, Rosina Lhevinne and Rudolf Serkin, and hardsichord with Albert Fuller and Kenneth Gilbert. He holds a degree in the History of Science magna cum laude from Harvard College. He is a prizewinner in four international competitions for early keyboard instruments, including first prize in the Bodky Competition of the Cambridge Society of Early Music, laureate of the Bruges Harpsichord Competition and bronze medal in the Paris Harpsichord Competition of the Festival Estival and in the First International Fortepiano Competition (Paris). His Concert Royal ensemble has been in residence at St. Thomas Church on Fifth Avenue in New York since 1982, performing chamber music concerts as well as the works of Handel, Bach and Purcell with the Choir of Men and Boys at St. Thomas. He is also Artistic Director and founder of New York’s Concert Royal and Music Director of the New York Baroque Dance Company, and he recently led the Hanover Band at the Pollenca festival in Majorca.

dsc_0181Hillary Coyle, Executive Director of Dallas Bach Society, has been in arts management for thirteen years. Graduating with an  degree in Music from Washington and Lee University in Virginia, Mrs. Coyle received the choral award and Classics scholarship. She has helped open three new performing arts centers and worked in marketing and house management at venues in Dallas, Saint Louis, and Pittsburgh. In addition to her work with the Dallas Bach Society, Mrs. Coyle teaches voice and piano to young and adult students at her private studio. At Incarnation House in Uptown Dallas, she volunteers in giving piano lessons to youth from North Dallas High School. An alto in the Incarnation Choir, she enjoys singing the repertoire of the Anglican musical tradition. She is married with two aspiring musicians for sons.

Eric Smith SABOCellist Eric Smith, Director of Outreach and Education, has made himself known throughout the U.S. and abroad as a multi-faceted musician performing styles from early music on period instruments, to contemporary music. As a soloist, chamber musician, and continuo player, Eric collaborates with ensembles including the Dallas Bach Society, Orchestra of New Spain, Texas Camerata, Ars Lyrica, Ensemble VIII, Denton Bach Society and the Denton Bach Players, Dallas Chamber Players, Bach Society of Houston, Mountainside Baroque, New York’s Concert Royal, New York Baroque Dance Company, Rumbarrocco, and the Orpheus Chamber Singers. Eric has appeared as a guest artist and recitalist at festivals including the Boston Early Music Festival, Hawaii Performing Arts Festival, Crested Butte Music Festival, American Renaissance and Baroque Music Festival (Bolivia), Cervantino Festival (Mexico), Les Nuits Baroques (France), and was an artist-in-residence for two seasons at the Strings in the Mountains Music Festival in Colorado, as cellist of the Amir Quartet. In addition to concertizing with Quartet Galant, a period instrument string quartet, Eric has performed chamber music with such notable artists as violinist Andres Cardenes, violist Yizhak Schotten, the Miami String Quartet, as well as principal players of the New York Philharmonic, and the Pittsburgh and Detroit Symphonies. Eric attended the University of North Texas studying cello under the tutelage of Eugene Osadchy and early music with lutenist Lyle Nordstrom, where he was honored as a Winspear scholar. Eric also attended the International Baroque Institute at the Longy School of Music where he studied baroque cello with Phoebe Carrai, and has studied viola da gamba with Mary Springfels.

Board of Directors

Executive Committee:
Dr. Michael G. Mathews, President
Kyle Mistrot, Vice President
Manny Hernandez, Treasurer
Valerie Gustin, Co-Secretary
Kathy Fox-Powell, Co-Secretary
Arend Koch, Past President
Eric Smith, Member at Large

Ken Carroll
Fred Ciarochi
Sandra Ciarochi
Patrick Gnage
Mark Landson
Larry McCain
Stephanie McDonald
Bruce Samuelson
Tara Stevenson
Harvey Stiegler